I MAKE IT WITH MY FEET

Clink from Kansas on a Fall perfect Sunday morning. Her name was Dorothy but a lot of friends and family called her Dort. Her petite frame of five foot nothing held the energy of a cougar and a personality that was larger than life. If you were fortunate enough to know her you instantly loved her and she you. Thanksgiving dinner with Aunt Dorothy was especially fabulous as she always made her famous potato salad. This was no ordinary potato salad, this was her art, her top-secret recipe and her way of loving you with food and celebration. Dort was one of those women that got up early, got ready and got things done. I would sit and watch her at her vanity doing all the things, face creams, make up, a woman who truly cared about her presentation. Dort worked in sales at higher end retail establishments like, Henry’s, Macy’s and Gordans shoes. I love that she equated and understood self-care was so deeply tied to the confidence she felt about herself, while also crucial to her career and the confidence others had in her abilities. Dort paid attention to the details, her outfits pressed, shoes matching her outfit and her jewelry cleaned and impeccable. The details of her home equally as kept, warm and as inviting as she was. Women like her are classic, unique, beautiful and genuine. There were times she would say things that as I recall them today in my mind still make me shake my head and laugh out loud every time. Dort lived to be ninety-one, she actually danced a jig on her ninetieth birthday and it was pretty impressive. I really can’t think of Thanksgiving without thinking of her, how thankful I am for family like her. Family and stories so interesting that their stories are retold, sacred, timeless, forever in style and relevant. When asked often for her potato salad secret recipe she never relented, choosing instead to smile, wink and say “I make it with my feet”. Sometimes the best recipes are not meant to be shared but leave us forever longing for one last bite, glass of wine and conversation with the cook. What is your favorite Thanksgiving dish?

Leave a comment